RJ's SQL Server and MySQL Notes

Notes on SQL Server and MySQL

MySQL

Posted by rjssqlservernotes on December 5, 2013

As a SQL Server DBA I have been reserved in my enthusiasm for MySQL thinking the technology immature and incompatible of competing in an environment of terabyte-size databases; notwithstanding my reservations I have watched MySQL mature over the past decade into a system with significant functionality and performance characteristics.  As a start-up the decision to implement a database solution using MySQL may be dictated by budgetary constraints; however, every business would do well to investigate the use of MySQL as an alternative to Microsoft’s ubiquitous SQL Server database system.

In response to client demand I have performed MySQL migrations to SQL Server, and; interestingly, a migration in the reverse direction which led me to appreciate the power and simplicity of the MySQL system. Although the tools differ, as a DBA the administration and development of databases are, in principle, similar in both environments providing a easy path for cross-training that I encourage other DBAs to undertake.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
