RJ's SQL Server and MySQL Notes

Notes on SQL Server and MySQL

Seeing the light

Posted by rjssqlservernotes on March 27, 2012

After nearly two decades as an application engineer focused on the Microsoft stack I have come to recognize the freedom provided by open source software.  My domain of expertise lies in the business, data-access layers, and database development which, until recently, for me meant the .Net framework and SQL Server.  My professional life changed after I discovered PHP and MySQL during a project.

Open source alternatives can provide robust solutions for most clients without licensing fees; this was a eureka moment for me.  In reflecting on the many projects to which I had contributed over the years I concluded that a very small number of them could not have been realized with open source solutions.  I have not abandoned the Microsoft technologies instead I have augmented my ability to provide solutions to clients; however, I find great pleasure in demonstrating solutions that are based solely on open source technology.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
